Skip to main content

Legislature confirms Examination Yuan nominees
facebook line twitter Print

node name:
Photo courtesy of CNA

Taipei, July 10 (CNA) The Legislature on Friday approved the appointment of 11 members of the Examination Yuan, the branch of government that is responsible for administering national civil servant exams and appointing, training and protecting the rights of civil service personnel.

Former Education Minister Huang Jong-tsun was confirmed as president of the Examination Yuan in a 65-3 vote.

Huang and the other 10 members, who were nominated by President Tsai Ing-wen, were approved in individual votes in the 113-seat Legislature, in which the ruling Progressive Party (DPP) holds a majority of 63 seats.

During the confirmation process, lawmakers of the opposition Kuomintang and Taiwan People's Party abstained, with the former accusing the DPP of hypocrisy.

Also, they said the DPP was filling vacancies in the Examination Yuan and Control Yuan with its own people.

Based on the votes in the Legislature, Chou Hung-hsien has been appointed as deputy head of the Examination Yuan, in which he currently serves as Minister of Civil Service.

The other nine members confirmed Friday by the Legislature are Yang Ya-hwei, Chen Tsi-yang, Wu Hsin-hsing, Chen Chin-seng, Wang Hsiu-hung, Yao Leeh-ter, Chou Lien-siang, Ho Yi-chen, and Iwan Nawi.

Under a law revision that took effect in January, the new Examination Yuan members will serve four-year terms instead of six.

A total of 68 lawmakers voted in the confirmation process, while 45 abstained.

more OCAC News, welcome to OCACNEWS.NET.