Skip to main content

facebook line twitter Print

node name:

ocac history image

In October 1926, in response to the government's concern for overseas community affairs, the Overseas Community Affairs Council (OCAC) was established directly subordinate to the Nationalist Government. In December 1931, the OCAC Organic Act was enacted. This measure, which placed the OCAC under the Executive Yuan. The Constitution of the ROC enacted by the National Assembly in December, 1946 listed overseas compatriot affairs among the ROC's "fundamental national policies," stipulating that the nation should protect and assist in the national economic development of overseas compatriot.

In December 1981, the number of Deputy Ministers was changed from the original two to two or three based on a revision to the OCAC Organic Act. In response to the restructuring of the Executive Yuan, the Act was further revised in September 2012.The current organization includes a minister, a deputy minister, a vice minister and five departments, as well as five offices. Additional divisions include Overseas Community News Agency and Legal Affairs Committee.

In March 1985, the OCAC's first Culture Center of TECO was established in San Francisco, U.S.A. to serve overseas compatriots. The number of culture centers of TECOs has been increased, and a total of 16 have been established, including centers in the U.S., Canada, Brazil, the Philippines, and Australia. 

ocac history advertising texts