Skip to main content

2017 Taiwanese American Heritage Week‧Asian Heritage Month in Canada
facebook line twitter Print

node name:
2017 Taiwanese American Heritage Week‧Asian Heritage Month in Canada

  Asian Pacific American Heritage Month is celebrated nationwide during the month of May to honor the cultures, traditions, and achievements of Asian Pacific Islanders in the United States.

  In June of 1977, Congressmen Frank Horton (NY) and Norman Y. Mineta (CA) introduced a House Resolution that called upon the President to proclaim the first 10 days of May as Asian/Pacific Heritage Week. May was chosen because in 1843 during the first week of the month, the first Japanese immigrants arrived in America. Also on May 10, 1869, the transcontinental railroad, built with Chinese labor, was completed.

  At the same time, Senators Daniel Inouye and Spark Matsunaga introduced a similar bill in the Senate. Both bills were passed, and on October 5, 1978, President Jimmy Carter signed a Joint Resolution designating the annual week of celebration. In May of 1990, President George H.W. Bush designated the entire month as Asian Pacific American Heritage Month.

  Since 1999, Congressman David Wu (OR) and the co-chairs of the Congressional Taiwan Caucus have supported the celebration of Taiwanese American Heritage Week starting from each Mother's Day Weekend during the month of May. In most major cities across the United States, one will find festivals, fairs, or events honoring our history and culture.

  While in Canada, many Asians have begun to celebrate their heritage during the month of May since 1979. In December 2001, the Senate adopted a motion proposed by Senator Vivienne Poy to officially designate May as Asian Heritage Month in Canada. In May 2002, the Government of Canada signed an official declaration to designate May as Asian Heritage Month.

  This year, in 2017, Da-Guan Dance Theater from the Dance Department of National Taiwan University of Arts and Formosa Melody Music Center, will celebrate with us.

    May 28, 2017 New York
    May 20, 2017 Washington D.C.
    May 14, 2017 Waterloo
    May 19, 2017 Los Angeles